MUSEUM – Building


João Paulo Seara Cardoso (1956-2010) director and artistic director of Marionetas do Porto had the idea, which was also a dream, of creating a Marionette Museum. In 2002 the space was rented in Rua das Flores 22, a building that was practically in ruins and where major renovation works were done.
Museu das Marionetas do Porto (Porto Marionette Museum) opened on February 3rd, 2013, João Paulo Seara Cardoso’s birthday. After the sale of the building in Rua das Flores, 22, the museum facilities were relocated to Rua de Belomonte, 61, next to the company’s head office: Teatro de Belomonte.
The project of Museu das Marionetas do Porto is signed by the architect José Gigante, the same architect who made the project of Teatro de Belomonte and Museu das Marionetas do Porto in Rua das Flores, 22.

The new space of the Museum has two floors and exhibits posters, set pieces, photographs, props, marionettes and videos of plays and documentaries. The Museu das Marionetas do Porto has the charm of a small place to discover the universe of contemporary marionettes.
The privileged location of the Museum, in the Historic Center of the City, along with the proximity of the Company’s head office, allows to create dynamic practices, always renewed.
The opening of Museu das Marionetas do Porto celebrated the 25 years of the Company and at the same time inscribed in the City the work of its author.